New Forum Online Now - www.fightercontrol.co.uk/forum/
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  Website  Reports/Articles  Frequencies/Callsigns  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Which base antenna should I buy?

View previous topic View next topic Go down
cookie

cookie

Spotter Watch Member : no

Which base antenna should I buy? Vide
PostSubject: Which base antenna should I buy? Which base antenna should I buy? Empty2009-07-26, 17:56

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to fighter Control and would really appreciate your help and advice on choosing the right/best? antenna for a base station I am setting up.

As the crow flies my location puts me 10 miles from RAF Marham, 17 miles from RAF Lakenheath, 23 miles from RAF Mildenhall and just 6 miles from the Harrier Strip on STANTA training area, as a result I have plenty of traffic around me to listen to. At this stage I only plan to listen to the VHF & UHF airbands and have been doing so up until now with a Uniden UBC3500XLT using a Watson SMA-881 antenna, both purchased a little over 2 years ago, this is my first and only scanner I have owned. I will continue using the UBC3500XLT at the base station for now but I plan to purchase a dedicated base scanner/receiver in the future with a budget of up to £500 - £600, any suggestions would be gratefully received.

For now my problem is choosing an antenna. For the last 2 weeks I have read books, magazines, researched on the internet and looked through all of the posts on this forums scanning section for some inspiration and have shortlisted the following:

Diamond D-777
http://www.radioworld.co.uk/~radio/catalog/d777-diamond-120300mhz-airband-fixed-station-vertical-p-4093.html?osCsid=0c7c9b7ee15c599c5fb1e0a64ad0e56c

Comet AB-380 VHF/UHF Airband Base Receive Antenna